Book: Millions

Cover image
Book:

Millions

Author: Frank Cottrell Boyce
Honors:
Genres:
Publisher: Macmillan

It was a one-in-a-million chance. A bag crammed with cash comes tumbling out of the air and lands right at Damian's feet. Suddenly the Cunningham brothers are rich. Very rich. They can buy anything they want. There's just one problem -- they have only seventeen days to spend all the money before it becomes worthless. And the crooks who stole the cash in the first place are closing in - fast.

A bittersweet story about the perils and pleasures of pounds and pennies. It will make you laugh and cry. Two bothers, Damian and Anthony, are unwittingly caught up in a train robbery during Britain's countdown to join the Euro. Suddenly finding themselves with a vast amount of cash, the boys have just one glorious, appalling dilemma - how to spend it in the few days before it becomes worthless. Torn between the vices of buying a million pizzas and the virtues of ending world poverty, the boys soon discover that being rich is a mug's game. For not only is the clock ticking - the bungling bank robbers are closing in. Pizzas or World Peace, what would you choose?

A funny, brilliantly clever and utterly thrilling debut novel that is, quite simply, unforgettable.

Reviews

Barnes and Noble

Two brothers get their hands on a case full of cash - and are out to spend it before it becomes worthless - in this thrilling novel from author Frank Cottrell Boyce. Filled with English-set action and cool suspense, Boyce's debut novel for younger audiences follows Anthony and religious saints–obsessed Damian Cunningham, who come upon a hoard of cash that mysteriously lands at their feet. Because of the looming replacement of the British pound by Euro currency, Anthony and Damian realize they have only 17 days to spend the money before it's taken out of circulation. The trouble for these two boys? Getting rid of money fast enough isn't as easy as it sounds, and they soon learn that thieves are on the prowl to reclaim their lost treasure. Boyce has served an absorbing, fast-paced read that will keep you turning the pages until the end. With clever, dry wit and atypical characters, the book rises above other mundane action novels and will appeal to fans of Gordon Korman and Cornelia Funke. Without a doubt, Boyce has hit the jackpot with this one.

Views: 643 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.022 sec