Book: Someplace to Be Flying

Cover image
Book:

Someplace to Be Flying

Author: Charles de Lint
Honors:
Genres:
Publisher: Tor Books

Here is Lily, a photojournalist in search of the “animal people” who supposedly haunt the city’s darkest slums. Here is Hank, who knows those slums all too well. One night, in a brutal incident, their lives collide—uptown Lily and downtown Hank, each with a quest and a role to play in the secret drama of the city’s oldest inhabitants.

For the animal people walk among us. Native Americans call them the First People, but they have never left, and they claim they city for their own.

Not only have Hank and Lily stumbled onto a secret, they’ve stumbled into a war. And in this battle for the city’s soul, nothing is quite as it appears.

Reviews

Amazon.com

Nobody does urban fantasy better than Charles de Lint. He has a gift for creating engaging, fully realized characters, totally believable dialogue, and a feeling that magic is just around the corner.

Someplace to Be Flying is set in Newford, a town familiar to readers of de Lint. (He set two prior novels (Memory and Dream and Trader) and two anthologies (Dreams Underfoot and The Ivory and the Horn) in Newford.) One late night, as Hank drives his gypsy cab, his reliable though perilous city is transformed. He encounters the mythical “animal people,” and the experience leaves him—and the reader—questioning accepted reality.

“Hank just wanted away from here. He’d sampled some hallucinogens when he was a kid and the feeling he had now was a lot like coming down from an acid high. Everything slightly askew, illogical things that somehow made sense, everything too sharp and clear when you looked at it but fading fast in your peripheral vision, blurred, like it didn’t really exist.” Fans of Emma Bull and Terri Windling (as both an editor and an author) will enjoy de Lint. He can make you believe “as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” —Nona Vero

Views: 514 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.036 sec