Book: The Doll People

Cover image
Book:

The Doll People

Author: Ann M. Martin, Laura Godwin, Brian Selznick
Honors:
Genres:
Publisher: Hyperion

Annabelle Doll is eight years old—she has been for more than a hundred years. Not a lot has happened to her, cooped up in the same dollhouse, with the same doll people day after day, year after year…until the Funcrafts move in! Now Annabelle has a friend! Sure, she’s made entirely of plastic, and she’s living in the scariest room in the house, but she’s an adventurer, and after a hundred years of boredom, an adventure is just what Annabelle needs.

When a secret diary surfaces, these two unlikely friends venture into the exciting and dangerous world outside the dollhouse to unravel an age-old mystery.

This masterfully plotted adventure is illustrated throughout with remarkable black-and-white illustrations.

Reviews

Amazon.com

Annabelle Doll is 8 years old—and has been for over 100 years. Nothing much has changed in the dollhouse during that time, except for the fact that 45 years ago, Annabelle’s Auntie Sarah disappeared from the dollhouse without a trace. After all this time, restless Annabelle is becoming more and more curious about her aunt’s fate. And when she discovers Auntie Sarah’s old diary, she becomes positively driven. Her cautious family tries to discourage her, but Annabelle won’t be stopped, even though she risks Permanent Doll State, in which she could turn into a regular, nonliving doll. And when the “Real Pink Plastic” Funcraft family moves in next door, the Doll family’s world is turned upside down—in more ways than one!

Fans of The Borrowers and Stuart Little will love this exciting story of adventure and mystery. The relationship between the two doll families, one antique, one modern, is hilariously, wonderfully drawn. The Funcrafts are reckless and raucous, with fearlessness born of their unbreakable plastic parts. The Doll family is reserved and somewhat prim, even though they occasionally break into ‘60s tunes like “Respect” in their sing-alongs. Annabelle is a heroine with integrity and gumption. Ann Martin (The Babysitters Club series) and Laura Godwin create a witty, intriguing tale, illustrated with humor and a clever eye for detail by Brian Selznick. (Ages 7 to 11) —Emilie Coulter

Views: 539 • Modified: • Elapsed: 0.034 sec